Balanced Look at Pros & Cons of Animal Research Airs July 1 on "Nick News With Linda Ellerbee"!

06/25/2014 9:01 AM | Deleted user
The popular children's educational TV channel, Nickelodeon, will soon air a special episode -  "Animal Rights...Or Wrongs?" on its "Nick News with Linda Ellerbee" program.

 "Nick News" is a highly rated and recognized program for children and teenagers alike, discussing important social, political and economic issues in a format intended for both children and adults.

  

This special episode is scheduled to present a balanced look at the pros and cons of working with animals in research.  It's being promoted as a show about hard choices.

  

AALAS Vice-President, Cindy Buckmaster, was interviewed to present the "pros" of animal research, along with 10 year old acquired aplastic anemia survivor, Liviya Anderson, (daughter of AALAS member, Brian Anderson). 

  

What's even more exciting?  Baylor College of Medicine allowed the "Nick News" crew to film animals in the vivarium, along with a mouse model of Alzheimer's disease performing a memory task in the lab! This is the first time this level of transparency has been shared with children on an international children's TV network!

  

MARK YOUR CALENDAR TO WATCH - Tuesday, July 1 at 8:00 pm ET(7pm CT/5pm Pacific)!  

 

The program will also be available for viewing the following day, July 2, on their website at www.nicknews.com.

┬ęCopyright 2009 NEBAALAS. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software